Nico Rosberg kept Mercedes on top during the third free practice session of the 2012 Bahrain Grand Prix, beating both Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber in the Red Bull, who were 2nd and 3rd respectively.

The McLaren duo took 4th and 6th, sandwiching 7 time world champion Michael Schumacher in the second Mercedes. McLaren has been struggling for pace throughout the weekend.

Kimi Raikkonen ended his session in 7th, ahead of Toro Rosso driver Daniel Ricciardo, and teammate Romain Grosjean.

Fernando Alonso wrapped up the top 10 in what was a windy and dusty session.

Qualifying kicks off at 14:00 (Beirut time)

Pos  Driver              Team/Car              Time         Gap 
 1.  Nico Rosberg        Mercedes              1m33.254s            
 2.  Sebastian Vettel    Red Bull-Renault      1m33.401s  + 0.147s 
 3.  Mark Webber         Red Bull-Renault      1m33.663s  + 0.409s  
 4.  Lewis Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes      1m33.782s  + 0.528s  
 5.  Michael Schumacher  Mercedes              1m33.796s  + 0.542s  
 6.  Jenson Button       McLaren-Mercedes      1m33.899s  + 0.645s  
 7.  Kimi Raikkonen      Lotus-Renault         1m33.976s  + 0.722s  
 8.  Daniel Ricciardo    Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m34.197s  + 0.943s  
 9.  Romain Grosjean     Lotus-Renault         1m34.401s  + 1.147s  
10.  Fernando Alonso     Ferrari               1m34.895s  + 1.641s  
11.  Pastor Maldonado    Williams-Renault      1m34.918s  + 1.664s  
12.  Jean-Eric Vergne    Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m34.977s  + 1.723s  
13.  Sergio Perez        Sauber-Ferrari        1m35.067s  + 1.813s  
14.  Kamui Kobayashi     Sauber-Ferrari        1m35.128s  + 1.874s  
15.  Paul di Resta       Force India-Mercedes  1m35.336s  + 2.082s  
16.  Felipe Massa        Ferrari               1m35.536s  + 2.282s  
17.  Bruno Senna         Williams-Renault      1m35.623s  + 2.369s  
18.  Heikki Kovalainen   Caterham-Renault      1m35.694s  + 2.440s  
19.  Nico Hulkenberg     Force India-Mercedes  1m35.773s  + 2.519s  
20.  Vitaly Petrov       Caterham-Renault      1m36.532s  + 3.278s  
21.  Charles Pic         Marussia-Cosworth     1m37.267s  + 4.013s  
22.  Timo Glock          Marussia-Cosworth     1m37.654s  + 4.400s  
23.  Pedro de la Rosa    HRT-Cosworth          1m38.973s  + 5.719s  
24.  Narain Karthikeyan  HRT-Cosworth          1m39.221s  + 5.967s