2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Race Results: Rosberg claims first title

November 27, 2016 – Nico Rosberg secured his first ever Formula 1 world championship title by finishing the final round of the 2016 season in Abu Dhabi in 2nd place, behind his winning team-mate Lewis Hamilton.

With Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel finishing third, less than a second covered the top three at the chequered flag as Hamilton ignored team instructions to up his pace in the closing laps.

Max Verstappen was a superb fourth for Red Bull, having spun his way to last on lap one after contact with Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg. Daniel Ricciardo followed his team mate home, with Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen taking sixth ahead of Hulkenberg.

Force India’s Sergio Perez, Williams’ Felipe Massa and McLaren’s Fernando Alonso completed the top ten.

Pos Driver Car
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes
8 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes
9 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes
10 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda
11 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari
12 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari
13 Esteban Ocon Manor/Mercedes
14 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes
15 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari
16 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari
17 Jolyon Palmer Renault
Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari
Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Ferrari
Jenson Button McLaren/Honda
Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes
Kevin Magnussen Renault

We define ourselves as the first online Automotive and Motorsports community in the Arab World.