August 28, 2016 – Mercedes’s Nico Rosberg scores his first ever win at the Belgian GP this afternoon closing the gap to his team-mate & championship leader Lewis Hamilton with just 9 points between the duo now.

Lewis Hamilton was able to secure the third podium spot after a thrilling performance starting 21st on the grid due to the penalties he had to assume which were accrued for three power unit changes.

2nd podium spot was taken by RedBull’s Daniel Ricciardo after a consistent drive all over the race solidifying his 3rd place ahead of Ferrari drivers in the championship standings.

His young team-mate Max Verstappen was slow away at start from second and swallowed up on the short run down to the La Source hairpin by both Raikkonen and Vettel with the trio colliding, Vettel had to back off while Raikkonen & Verstappen were forced to box in due to damages caused by this contact.

Several accidents occured during the race, one of them involving Manor’s Pascal Wehrlein who ran into the back of Jenson Button’s McLaren coming out of Les Combes, with both retiring. The other one involved Renault’s Kevin Magnussen at the famous eau rouge corner with Magnussen loosing the control of his car at the corner exit and eventually crashing into the wall.

Two other retirements during the race for Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz & Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson.

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1h44m51.058s
2 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 14.113s
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 27.634s
4 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 35.907s
5 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 40.660s
6 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 45.394s
7 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 59.445s
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1m00.151s
9 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m01.109s
10 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1m05.873s
11 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1m11.138s
12 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 1m13.877s
13 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1m16.474s
14 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1m27.097s
15 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1m33.165s
16 Esteban Ocon Manor/Mercedes 1 Lap
17 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1 Lap
Kevin Magnussen Renault Spun off
Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari Gearbox
Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari Tyre
Jenson Button McLaren/Honda Collision
Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes Collision

About The Author

Motorsport Publisher & Photographer. Karting driver. Addicted to rallying & sport cars. The best part of me is motorsport events live coverage and updates.

Related Posts