October 31, 2016 – Lewis Hamilton took another seven points out of Nico Rosberg’s championship lead on Sunday with a superb win over his Mercedes team mate in Mexico.

Hamilton, who now trails by 19 points with two rounds remaining, was 8.3s clear at the chequered flag, with Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo completing the top 3.

Vettel was initially given third place after Max Verstappen was penalised post-race for an incident on the 68th lap when the Dutchman ran wide in Turn 1 and then over the grass in Turn 2 to stay ahead of the Ferrari. Verstappen was told by Red Bull to give up the place but chose not to, and his intransigence enabled Ricciardo to close on to Vettel’s tail.

The German was later given a ten-second time penalty for driving ‘dangerously or erratically’ while defending fourth place from Ricciardo in the closing stages of the race, meaning he dropped from third to fifth.

Hulkenberg looked likely to take sixth despite strong pressure from Raikkonen, but the Ferrari driver finally made a move in Turn 4 on the 67th lap. The Force India was on 30-lap older tyres, and as Raikkonenn went by Hulkenberg spun through 360 degrees but got going again quickly and held on for seventh ahead of the distant Williams duo of Bottas and Massa.

Home favourite Perez had a horrible race trapped almost the entire distance behind Massa, and couldn’t do better than 10th for the final point.

Pos Driver Car Laps Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 71 1h40m31.402s
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 71 8.354s
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 71 20.858s
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 71 21.323s
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 71 27.313s
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 71 49.376s
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 71 58.891s
8 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 71 1m05.612s
9 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 71 1m16.206s
10 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 71 1m16.798s
11 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 70 1 Lap
12 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 70 1 Lap
13 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 70 1 Lap
14 Jolyon Palmer Renault 70 1 Lap
15 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 70 1 Lap
16 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 70 1 Lap
17 Kevin Magnussen Renault 70 1 Lap
18 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Ferrari 70 1 Lap
19 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 70 1 Lap
20 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 70 1 Lap
21 Esteban Ocon Manor/Mercedes 69 2 Laps
Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 0 Collision

About The Author

We define ourselves as the first online Automotive and Motorsports community in the Arab World.

Related Posts