August 21, 2016 – Frenchman Sebastien Ogier wins ADAC Rally Deutschland after missing the winning taste for the past six rounds. Ogier finished the rally with a 20.3-sec gap to his nearest rival to extend his 2016 championship lead by 14 points.

A consistent drive throughout the weekend and a fourth place on the very last special stage earned the Spaniard driver Dani Sordo 2nd place by a margin of 0.1-sec over his team-mate Thierry Neuville who topped the final stage to score three extra championship points for his efforts.

A big disappointment for the Polo R WRC driver Andreas Mikkelsen who lost his brakes on the final stage of the rally and therefore lost his podium spot and eventually had to settle for fourth.


Completing the top five was the less tarmac-experienced Hyundai driver Hayden Paddon who was a further three minutes behind in fifth place, while Ford’s Mads Østberg had a frustrating time as he could only guide his Ford Fiesta RS to sixth place.

Pos # Driver Time Diff Prev Diff 1st
1. 1 FRA S. OGIER 3:00:26.7
2. 4 ESP D. SORDO 3:00:47.0 +20.3 +20.3
3. 3 BEL T. NEUVILLE 3:00:47.1 +0.1 +20.4
4. 9 NOR A. MIKKELSEN 3:00:53.9 +6.8 +27.2
5. 20 NZL H. PADDON 3:04:01.5 +3:07.6 +3:34.8
6. 5 NOR M. OSTBERG 3:04:57.9 +56.4 +4:31.2
7. 32 FIN E. LAPPI 3:09:03.5 +4:05.6 +8:36.8
8. 83 SWE P. TIDEMAND 3:09:19.2 +15.7 +8:52.5
9. 35 CZE J. KOPECKY 3:10:10.9 +51.7 +9:44.2
10. 31 DEU A. KREMER 3:10:37.3 +26.4 +10:10.6

About The Author

Motorsport Publisher & Photographer. Karting driver. Addicted to rallying & sport cars. The best part of me is motorsport events live coverage and updates.

Related Posts