January 14, 2017 – Stephane Peterhansel claimed his second consecutive Dakar Rally victory with Peugeot and his 13th overall after fending off team-mate Sebastien Loeb.

Peterhansel is Dakar’s most successful competitor ever, with now seven wins to his name in the car category and six triumphs in the bike category. He emerged as the clear leader in the 2017 edition of the event at the end of SS10, with a lead of six minutes over Loeb after being given back time following his incident with biker Simon Marcic.

Loeb claimed second place overall, followed by Cyril Despres who gave Peugeot a 1-2-3, while Toyota drivers Nani Roma and Giniel de Villiers completed the event in fourth and fifth places respectively.

Qatar’s Mohammed Abu Issa finished 10th overall and first among Arab drivers, while UAE’s Khalid Al Qassimi ran into trouble and lost 9th place overall as a result.

Pos. Driver Car Time/Gap
1  Stephane Peterhansel Peugeot 28h49m30s
2  Sebastien Loeb Peugeot +5m13s
3  Cyril Despres Peugeot +33m28s
4  Nani Roma Toyota +1h16m43s
5  Giniel de Villiers Toyota +1h49m48s
6  Orlando Terranova Mini +1h52m31s
7  Kuba Przygonski Mini +4h14m47s
8  Romain Dumas Peugeot +4h21m01s
9  Conrad Rautenbach Toyota +4h40m13s
10  Mohammed Abu-Issa Mini +4h53m30s

About The Author

We define ourselves as the first online Automotive and Motorsports community in the Arab World.

Related Posts