January 10, 2017 – 9-time WRC champion Sebastien Loeb retook the Dakar Rally lead on Tuesday as he claimed victory in a shortened eighth special stage.

The stage was shortened due to the bad weather conditions and Loeb managed to beat his Peugeot team-mate Stephane Peterhansel, who dropped to second place overall, while Cyril Despres moved to third place overall, meaning Peugeot holds a 1-2-3.

Nani Roma drops to fourth overall in the Toyota, ahead of X-Raid Mini’s Mikko Hirvonen who remains fifth.

UAE’s Khalid Al Qassimi lies 11th overall, followed by Qatar’s Mohamed Abu Issa in 12th.

There will be running on Wednesday as the ninth stage has been cancelled because of a rockslide that occurred on Stage 8 and prevented some competitors from reaching the service area on time.

Pos. Driver Car Time/Gap
1  Sebastien Loeb Peugeot 20h10m05s
2  Stephane Peterhansel Peugeot +1m38s
3  Cyril Despres Peugeot +17m17s
4  Nani Roma Toyota +23m36s
5  Mikko Hirvonen Mini +53m41s
6  Giniel de Villiers Toyota +1h21m44s
7  Orlando Terranova Mini +1h26m47s
8  Kuba Przygonski Mini +1h42m18s
9  Boris Garafulic Mini +2h42m57s
10  Romain Dumas Peugeot +3h09m17s

About The Author

We define ourselves as the first online Automotive and Motorsports community in the Arab World.

Related Posts