The third round of the 2014 World Rally Championship or Rally Mexico, celebrates its 10th anniversary this week.

First introduced to the championship calendar in 2004, Rally Mexico is famous for its high temperatures that put stress on the powertrains, in addition to high altitudes (topping at 2737m) in which engines struggle to breathe in the thin air and lose 20% power.

Sebastien Loeb holds the number of most victories in Rally Mexico with a total of 6, followed by a single victory for Sebastien Ogier (2013), Markko Martin (2004) and Petter Solberg (2005). The event was dropped out of the 2009 calendar.

Here’s a great video that commemorates 10 years of the World Rally Championship in Mexico.

About The Author

Just your average petrolhead and adrenaline junkie

Related Posts