July 3, 2016 – Andreas Mikkelsen was handed an unexpected victory at Rally Poland on Sunday when a puncture just kilometers from the finish denied Ott Tanak a maiden World Rally Championsip success.

Heavy rain made the sandy roads treacherously slippery and long-time leader Tänak dropped 40sec in the penultimate speed test to hand the Norwegian victory by 26.2sec in a Volkswagen Polo R.

A devastated Tänak recovered to finish second in his Ford Fiesta RS with Hayden Paddon third in a Hyundai i20, a further 2.3sec back.

Championship leader Sébastien Ogier won the final live TV Power Stage to claim three bonus points in a Polo R. Team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala took two points for second while Thierry Neuville secured the final point in third in an i20.

Pos. Driver Team Gap
 1  Andreas Mikkelsen

 Anders Jaeger

Volkswagen 2h37m34.4s
2  Ott Tanak

 Raigo Molder

Ford +26.2s
3  Hayden Paddon

 John Kennard

Hyundai +28.5s
4  Thierry Neuville

 Nicolas Gilsoul

Hyundai +29.3s
5  Jari-Matti Latvala

 Miikka Anttila

Volkswagen +33.8s
6  Sebastien Ogier

 Julien Ingrassia

Volkswagen +40.3s
 7  Craig Breen

 Martin Scott

Citroen +2m01.4s
 8  Mads Ostberg

 Ola Floene

Ford +3m04.6s
9  Eric Camilli

 Benjamin Veillas

Ford +5m23.1s
 10  Teemu Suninen

 Mikko Markkula

Skoda +5m53.3

Ott Tanak

About The Author

We define ourselves as the first online Automotive and Motorsports community in the Arab World.

Related Posts