2012 Catalunya MotoGP race results: Lorenzo claims victory!

Jorge Lorenzo tightened his grip on the MotoGP championship lead when the Spanish Yamaha rider came out on top in a battle with compatriot Dani Pedrosa to win the Catalunya Grand Prix on Sunday.

Under dark skies and with spots of rain falling on the Montmelo track, Lorenzo snatched the lead with just under six laps left and pulled away from Honda’s Pedrosa to secure his third victory in five races this season.

Italian Andrea Dovizioso was third on his Yamaha, with Pedrosa’s Honda team mate and reigning champion Casey Stoner of Australia fourth and Britain’s Cal Crutchlow, another Yamaha rider, fifth.

Lorenzo has 115 points after five of 18 races, with Stoner on 95 and Pedrosa on 85.

 1.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                     43m07.681s
 2.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                        + 5.003s
 3.  Andrea Dovizioso  Tech 3 Yamaha                + 9.361s
 4.  Casey Stoner      Honda                        + 9.544s
 5.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha               + 12.506s
 6.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda               + 13.948s
 7.  Valentino Rossi   Ducati                      + 17.555s
 8.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda                   + 23.478s
 9.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                      + 30.410s
10.  Ben Spies         Yamaha                      + 32.897s
11.  Hector Barbera    Pramac Ducati               + 36.144s
12.  Karel Abraham     Cardion Ducati              + 56.229s
13.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia             + 1m08.054s
14.  Michele Pirro     Gresini FTR-Honda         + 1m08.775s
15.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia             + 1m10.483s
16.  James Ellison     Paul Bird Aprilia         + 1m13.090s
17.  Mattia Pasini     Speed Master Aprilia      + 1m20.903s
18.  Yonny Hernandez   Avintia FTR-Kawasaki      + 1m21.235s
19.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Aprilia              + 1m41.207s
20.  Ivan Silva        Avintia Inmotec-Kawasaki  + 1m41.888s

– Reuters

Just your average petrolhead and adrenaline junkie