Rain and race incidents meant that the drivers who began the traditional pole position chase this evening did not do so in the best conditions in the last two qualifying sessions for the 2013 Le Mans 24 Hours. As a result the no. 2 Audi driven by Loïc Duval, Tom Kristensen and Allan McNish that was quickest on Wednesday evening will start from pole on Saturday 22nd June.

The weather didn’t help things in the second qualifying sessions on Thursday 20th June. At 18h45, just under 15 minutes before the green light unleashed the cars, a heavy shower soaked around two-thirds of the circuit. The drivers went out one by one on a very tricky track but they didn’t set any meaningful times. As the road began to dry out the no. 40 Oreca-Nissan went off on the Mulsanne straight at the second chicane leading to the session being red-flagged with around 32 minutes left.

In order not to penalise the teams Race Control decided to bring forward by 30 minutes the start of the second part of the session, which lasted 2h 30m.

The drivers went out at 21h30 and not 22h00 as originally scheduled. At 23h17 with 43 minutes still to go the drivers started to chase the pole position again after more interruptions.


#99 Aston Martin Vantage V8 went quickest in the LMGTE Pro class

Finally, the fastest time on Wednesday in LM P1 was not beaten so on pole went to the no. 2 Audi (Duval, Kristensen, McNish) thanks to the Frenchman’s 3m22.439s on 19th June. The R18 e-tron-quattro will start in front of its two sister cars no.1 (3m23.696s), which snatched second at the last moment thanks to André Lotterer who improved his Wednesday’s time, from no.3 (3m24.341s). The first TS030 Toyota Hybrid of Wurz, Lapierre and Nakajima (3m26.654s) will start the race in fourth place 4.3s off the quickest time.

In LM P2, Olivier Pla in the no. 24 Morgan-Nissan n°24 he shares with Alex Brundle and David Heinemeier Hansson clinched pole in the dying seconds in 3m38.621s from the no.26 l’Oreca 03-Nissan n°26 (3m39.535s) and the no. 38 Zytek-Nissan (3m40.459s).

As on Wednesday the LM GTE Pro category was dominated by Aston Martin, and no. 99 (Makowiecki, Senna, Bell), already quickest yesterday improve its time to 3m54.635s followed by another Aston no. 97 (3m55.455s) and the first Porsche n°92 in 3m55.491s. It was the same story in LM GTE Am thanks to Nygaard, Poulsen and Simonsen’s V8 Vantage (no. 95, 3m55.776s) from the no. 88 Porsche (3m58.889s) and the no. 96 Aston Martin Vantage V8 (3m59.805s).

The cars entered in the Le Mans 24 Hours will have a final 45-minute warm-up session on Saturday 22nd June at 9h00 before the start of the 90th anniversary race at 15h00.

Pos Cl  Drivers                        Team/Car               Time       
 1. P1  Kristensen/McNish/Duval        Audi                   3m22.349
 2. P1  di Grassi/Gene/Jarvis          Audi                   3m23.696
 3. P1  Lotterer/Treluyer/Fassler      Audi                   3m24.341
 4. P1  Davidson/Buemi/Sarrazin        Toyota                 3m26.654 
 5. P1  Wurz/Lapierre/Nakajima         Toyota                 3m26.676
 6. P1  Prost/Jani/Heidfeld            Rebellion Lola-Toyota  3m28.935
 7. P1  Belicchi/Beche/Cheng           Rebellion Lola-Toyota  3m32.167  
 8. P1  Kane/Watts/Leventis            Strakka HPD            3m36.547  
 9. P2  Pla/Heinemeier Hansson/Brundle OAK Morgan-Nissan      3m38.621 
10. P2  Rusinov/M.Martin/Conway        Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan 3m39.535
11. P2  Dolan/Turvey/Luhr              Jota Zytek-Nissan      3m40.459  
12. P2  Gachnang/Mailleux/Lombard      Morand Morgan-Judd     3m40.741  
13. P2  Graves/Nakano/Hamilton         Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan 3m40.925  
14. P2  Imperatori/Tung/Howson         KCMG Morgan-Nissan     3m41.042 
15. P2  Hartley/Patterson/Chandhok     Murphy ORECA-Nissan    3m41.569 
16. P2  Panciatici/Ragues/Gommendy     Signatech ORECA-Nissan 3m41.654 
17. P2  Baguette/Gonzalez/Plowman      OAK Morgan-Nissan      3m41.854 
18. P2  Perez Companc/Minassian/Kaffer Pecom ORECA-Nissan     3m43.420  
19. P2  Thiriet/Badey/M.Martin         TDS ORECA-Nissan       3m43.494  
20. P2  Mardenborough/Ordonez/Krumm    Greaves Zytek-Nissan   3m44.421 
21. P2  Kimber-Smith/Rossi/Lux         Greaves Zytek-Nissan   3m44.621  
22. P2  Frey/Niederhauser/Bleekemolen  Race Perf' ORECA-Judd  3m45.244  
23. P2  Holzer/Kraihamer/Charouz       Lotus-Praga            3m45.274 
24. P2  Weeda/Rossiter/Bouchut         Lotus-Praga            3m47.920 
25. P2  Nicolet/Merlin/Mondolot        OAK Morgan-Nissan      3m48.196  
26. P2  Tucker/Franchitti/Briscoe      Level 5 HPD            3m48.597  
27. P2  Giroix/Haezebrouck/Ihara       Gulf Lola-Nissan       3m49.096
28. P2  Mowlem/Burgess/Hirschi         HVM Status Lola-Judd   3m49.805
29. GTP Bell/Makowiecki/Senna          Aston Martin           3m54.635
30. GTP Dumbreck/Mucke/Turner          Aston Martin           3m55.445
31. GTP Lieb/Lietz/Dumas               Manthey Porsche        3m55.491
32. GTP Bruni/Fisichella/Malucelli     AF Corse Ferrari       3m55.909 
33. GTP Auberlen/Dalla Lana/Lamy       Aston Martin           3m56.336 
34. GTP Beretta/Kobayashi/Vilander     AF Corse Ferrari       3m56.471 
35. GTP Bergmeister/Pilet/Bernhard     Manthey Porsche        3m56.573 
36. P2  Porta/Raffin/Brandela          DKR Lola-Judd          3m56.905  
37. P2  Downs/Dagoneau/Younessi        Boutsen ORECA-Nissan   3m57.139  
38. GTA Nygaard/Poulsen/Simonsen       Aston Martin           3m57.776 
39. GTP Westbrook/Gavin/Milner         Corvette               3m58.644
40. GTA Ried/Roda/Ruberti              Proton Porsche         3m58.889 
41. GTP Magnussen/Garcia/Taylor        Corvette               3m59.526
42. GTA Hall/Goethe/Campbell-Walter    Aston Martin           3m59.805
43. GTA Gerber/Griffin/Cioci           AF Ferrari             3m59.997 
44. GTA Milesi/Gibon/Henzler           Imsa Porsche           4m00.503 
45. GTP Collard/Perrodo/Crubile        Prospeed Porsche       4m00.682 
46. GTP Dalziel/Farnbacher/Goossens    SRT Viper              4m00.802  
47. GTA Dempsey/Foster/Long            Dempsey Porsche        4m00.916  
48. GTA Narac/Bourret/Vernay           Imsa Porsche           4m01.713  
49. GTA Potolicchio/Aguas/Bright       8star Ferrari          4m01.934
50. GTP Bomarito/Kendall/Wittmer       SRT Viper              4m03.461 
51. GTA Perazzini/Case/O'Young         AF Corse Ferrari       4m03.966 
52. GTA MacNeil/Rodrigues/Dumas        Larbre Corvette        4m04.512 
53. GTA Bornhauser/Canal/Taylor        Larbre Corvette        4m04.873
54. GTP Bertolini/Al Faisal/Al Qubaisi JMW Ferrari            4m05.417  
55. GTA Mallegol/Bachelier/Blank       AF Ferrari             4m09.064  
56. GTA Krohn/Jonsson/Mediani          Krohn Ferrari          4m16.233