September 4, 2016 – Tamer Ghandour has been announced the winner of the 39th Rally of Lebanon by ATCL stewards after Abdo Feghali was given a 5-minute time penalty.

Abdo finished the rally 1 minute 51.7 seconds ahead of Tamer Ghandour, but the penalty demotes him to 3rd place overall and promotes Tamer Ghandour to first place and Rodrigue Rahi to second place.

Abdo announced that he will appeal the ATCL’s decision to the FIA.

“We were given a 5-minute time penalty because we drove on a road section on a wheel with no rubber, but it is unclear why the penalty was 5 minutes. We’re going to appeal the decision to the FIA. However, I believe Tamer deserves the victory as much as we do.” explained Abdo at the post-rally drivers’ press conference.

Below is the full report published by the ATCL concerning this issue.


About The Author

Just your average petrolhead and adrenaline junkie

Related Posts